RSS

Stunning Lithops!

22 Feb

Aucampiae is, by far, one of the most beautiful Lithops species.  The variety within the species is amazing.  You could keep only Aucampiae and your collection would still burst with color and texture!  And their beauty isn’t their only virtue.  They happen to be one of the best Lithops for beginners!  Aucampiae are more forgiving of mistreatment then other species and it’s for this reason they make a great first Lithops! Check out these two beauties.  They are two of the most beautiful Lithops I have in my collection and so different from each other!  The one on the left is marked with vivid veins of red that pop off a pale pink background.  The one on the left is an understated beauty characterized by a comparatively drab beige tone with khaki dots.  It’s hard to believe they are both the same species, but they are!  I think they compliment each other very well and I look forward to watching them grow side by side over the next few years 🙂 059

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 22, 2015 in Aucampie

 

Tags:

One response to “Stunning Lithops!

  1. bonseyes

    February 22, 2015 at 12:29 pm

    I was doing a little reading last night and I think I’ve identified the red plant in this photo. It appears to be a young Lithops aucampiae ssp. euniceae v. euniceae ‘Hikoruby’, at least to my eye.

     

Leave a comment